Mayor and City Council

City Council Email

Mayor John Labrosse:
Deputy Mayor Kathleen Canestrino:
Councilman Leonardo Battaglia:
Councilwoman Stephanie Von Rudenborg:
Councilman Gerard Carroll:

The City operates under the New Jersey Municipal Manager Law of 1923. This form of government separates policy making (the work of the Mayor and City Council) from the execution of policy (the work of the City Manager). This maintains professional management and a City-wide perspective through: nonpartisan election, at large representation, concentration of executive responsibility in the hands of a professional manager accountable to the Mayor and Council, concentration of policy making power in one body – a five-person Mayor and Council. This form also creates stability which can be demonstrated by the fact that in several decades of the Municipal Manager Form of Government, Hackensack has had only ten City Managers.

Links to the docket will appear on the homepage at the Friday before each Council/COW meeting.